The app has a feature called View Once, available for both Android and iOS. With this feature, you can send photos and videos that will remain on the recipient’s phone for a single viewing and disappear afterward. It helps you share content you don’t wish to remain visible in your chat for as long as possible. View Once won’t save the photos or videos you share with a recipient to a recipient’s phone’s Photos or Gallery. Whatsapp allows a certain level of impermanence through the “View Once” feature.
This is a step-by-step guide to explain how you can use WhatsApp’s View Once feature on Android or iOS device.
How to use WhatsApp View Once on Android and iOS
Getting started with the steps on using the ‘View Once on WhatsApp’ feature, it is important to note that once you send a photo or video using the feature, you will not be able to view that file again in the chat. After media sharing is enabled, you will not be able to forward, save, star, or share the photos or videos you share with View. Furthermore, the photos and videos shared using the View Once a feature is set to expire from the chat if they are not viewed within 14 days of being sent.
- Open WhatsApp on your device and select a photo or video to show your contact once.
- Tap the View Once icon. During your content, you will see an alert asking you to confirm the activation of the feature.
- You can now send that photo or video to your contact by clicking the send button.
WhatsApp recommends users only send photos or videos with View Once enabled to people they are familiar with. It’s simply because the recipient can capture a screenshot or screen recording of the media before it disappears. A screenshot or screen recording will not be notified to you. The recipient can also take a photo or record a video of the media before it disappears.
The company said that viewing encrypted media may also be stored on WhatsApp’s servers for a few weeks after it is sent. If the recipient chooses to report the media on WhatsApp, it will also be shared with the app.